The Board of Trustees is responsible for the management and administration of the Students' Union and (subject to the Education Act, these Articles and the Schedules) may exercise all the powers of the Union. The Board’s powers include but are not limited to responsibility for: the governance of the Union; the budget of the Union; and the strategy of the Union.

The current membership of the Board of Trustees for the academic year 2018/19 is:

Chair of Trustee Board:

Matt Crilly
Matt Crilly, appointed to June 2020


Executive Members (elected by membership):

Eyram Ahadzie
Eyram Selasie Ahadzie, appointed to June 2020


John Agbonrofo
John Ehizogie Agbonrofo, appointed to June 2020


Maddy Watson
Maddy Watson, appointed to June 2020


Rachel Cairns
Rachel Cairns, appointed to June 2020


Kayla-Megan Burns
Kayla-Megan Burns , appointed to June 2020


Non-executive Members:

Photo of Penny Leake

Chair (Enterprise & Investment committee) / Student Non-executive Member
Penny Leake, Appointed to June 2019

Photo of Les Gaw

Deputy Chair (Enterprise & Investment committee) / External Non-executive Member
Les Gaw, Appointed to June 2020

Photo of Mhairi

External Non-executive Member
Mhairi Maguire, Appointed to June 2020

Photo of Cameron Swanson

Student Non-executive Member
Cameron Swanson, Appointed to June 2019

Photo of Gemma Paterson

Student Non-executive Member
Gemma Paterson, Appointed to June 2019

External Non-executive Member
Colin McNab, Appointed to June 2022

External Non-executive Member
Kelly McIntyre-Greene, Appointed to June 2022

External Non-executive Member
Paul Bradley, Appointed to June 2022

Student Non-executive Member
Stephen Ugwuanyi, Appointed to June 2020

Student Non-executive Member
Matthew McDonald, Appointed to June 2020


Attending - the following staff of the Union normally attend meetings of the Trustee Board or its related committees:

Chief Executive - Manish Joshi

Executive Assistant - Katie Bharaj

Finance Manager (Finance Audit and Risk committee) - Emma Fair

As a result of the 2015/16 Financial management and organisational review, the following University of Strathclyde staff normally attends Strathclyde Students' Union Trustee Board business meetings:

University Observer - Gill Watt (or University nominee)



Make a difference. Get Involved

search opportunities
  • 90 John Street, Glasgow G1 1JH
  • Email
  • +44 (0) 141 567 5000