Strathclyde Teaching Excellence Awards 2019

Nominations are now open for Teaching Excellence Awards 2020!

Celebrations were in full swing at Strath Union for the 10th annual Teaching Excellence Awards (TEAs), with Derek Hill taking home the top award for Overall Best Teacher.

Providing students the opportunity to celebrate Strathclyde’s teaching force, the awards show how staff have gone the extra mile in delivering learning and teaching across the University.

The winner of this year's Overall Best Teacher was awarded to Derek Hill (Department of Architecture) for their passion, commitment and enthusiasm towards students and their subject.

Student Executive and Best Overall Winner Derek Hill

As well as celebrating the 10th anniversary of the awards, this year saw the highest ever number of nominations, with over 900 submissions from students showing their support towards Strathclyde’s teaching staff.

The nominees were joined by Strath Union’s senior managers, Associate Principal (Learning & Teaching) Sara Carter, and the Student Executive at a special awards ceremony, hosted by Vice President Education, Eyram Selasie Ahadzie.

You can see photos from the night from our Facebook page.

Photos from TEAs 2019

Teaching staff were nominated in three main categories:

Most Supportive Teacher - This recognises staff putting incredible effort into supporting students throughout their studies.

Most Innovative Teacher - This celebrates methods of helping students with relevant course materials, while encouraging engagement of coursework outside of the classroom.

Most Enthusiastic Teacher - This shows the incredible passion they provide for the student’s subject areas, as well as bringing their course to life.

Nominations were also sent in recognising the University’s PhD students, who also tutor on campus, and the Non-Teaching Support Staff, such as lab technicians and department administrators, who play an important role in students’ lives.

The full longlist of nominees can be found here.

Vice President Education, Eyram Selasie Ahadzie, said: “This year marks the 10th anniversary of the Teaching Excellence Awards, and I’m so delighted to be celebrating it with some of Strathclyde’s excellent teaching staff.

“Being a student, I really do appreciate the contribution and support from lecturers that we receive in order to get the best outcome at Strathclyde. Congratulations to all the winners and nominees, and I hope you all had a wonderful night celebrating.”

VP Education Eyram and Best Overall Winner Derek Hill

Winner of the Overall Best Teacher Award, Derek Hill, said: " I am delighted to be awarded Best Overall Teacher at Strathclyde and I feel proud to receive this recognition within such a fantastic team of teachers within the University. The work put in by the Strath Union team in organising the awards is incredible and Friday was another fantastic evening. 

"I began my Strathclyde journey as an undergraduate student almost 25 years ago and completed both my Honours Degree and Post Graduate Diploma in the Department of Architecture before moving into architectural practice with no thought of developing a career in teaching. But, once qualified as an architect, I was invited back to the department as a design studio tutor on a part time basis and began to realise that my passion for architecture was soon to be eclipsed by a passion to teach.

"To be nominated by our student cohort for the award is very humbling. Their hunger to learn and their enthusiasm and excitement for the subject makes my job very easy, and thoroughly enjoyable. It is hugely rewarding to watch them progress and develop their own styles as they move through the Department and establish their own careers in architectural practice. Hopefully they feel my input along the way is of benefit."

Best Overall Teacher
 Derek Hill
Shortlisted: Phil Taylor, Sarah Proctor, Chris Cox, Jenny Carey, David Reat, Evelyn Hart, Allan Blake

Most Innovative Teacher
 Claire Timmins
Shortlisted: Emma Henderson, Konstantinos Tomazos, Markus Gehrsitz, Suzanne Faulkner, Karen Boyle

Most Enthusiastic Teacher
 Kandi Higgins
Shortlisted: Susan McCool, Catriona Robb, David Garcia Cava, Gian-Luca Oppa, Sebastian Van de Linde

Most Supportive Teacher
Winner: Agnes MacIntosh
Shortlisted: Catherine Whitley, Noémie Jollet, Penny Hadrill, Christine Jones, Susan Rasmussen

Best Student Who Tutors
Winner: Euan Beveridge
Shortlisted: Scot Dignan, Scott McNee, Sep Fardghassemi, Kate Pyper, Gordon Williamson

Best Non-Teaching Support Staff
 Lindsey Whiteford
Shortlisted: Derek Gillan, Barbara Baillie, Jacqueline Lister, Margaret English

Best in Faculty – Engineering
Winner: Agustí Egea-Àlvarez
Shortlisted: David Reat, Khaled Ahmed, Hilary Grierson, Miguel Jorge

Best in Faculty – Business
Winner: Thomas McAlinden
Shortlisted: Claudine Grisard, Andrew Marshall, Tom Bourkel, Colin Lindsay

Best in Faculty - Science
Winner: Alison Yao
Shortlisted: Brian McMillan, Sarah Walker, Paul Hoskisson, Christine Davidson

Best in Faculty - HaSS
Winner: Vanesa Sabala
Shortlisted: Amanda Corrigan, Andrew Meehan, Cédric Moreau, Dan Heap


Make a difference. Get Involved

search opportunities
  • 90 John Street, Glasgow G1 1JH
  • Email
  • +44 (0) 141 567 5000