Browse Jobs List

Camp Counsellor (24 positions)

Listed by Camp Indy

Applying

Application deadline: Sun 12 May 2019

Rate

from £8.00

Hours

We do not use zero hour contracts so instead, we will guarantee 5 weeks of work, out of the 7. Extra weeks may become available based on camper enrolment. Days at Camp Indy start at 7.45am and finish at either 4.45pm or 5.30pm.

Job Duration

Thursday June 27th until Friday August 2nd/Friday August 16th (depending on camp enrolment).

Details

 

Who are we looking for?

We are looking for Camp Counsellors for an outstanding summer day camp for campers aged 5 - 14, based at Kelvinside Academy, in the heart of Glasgow's West End. The Camp Counsellor is a role model, friend, leader and mentor for our campers. Each counsellor is responsible for a group of 8 - 12 campers. The camp counsellor facilitates friendships, runs unique group activities and is responsible for the pastoral care, safety and wellbeing of their campers.

Each counsellor will run at least one elective activity in the morning based on skill and experience. When applying, please look at which electives you have experience in teaching.

About You

Candidates must demonstrate the following skills and characteristics:

Essential:

  • Experience working directly with groups of children aged 5-14
  • Ability to be a positive role model for children
  • Experience in teaching at least one of the elective activities
  • Experience of working in a fast-paced and demanding environment
  • Maturity to be responsible for the care, well-being and safety of young people

Beneficial:

  • Experience of working at a summer camp
  • First aid certificate

Other Information

  1. All applicants must successfully pass full background and reference checks 
  2. All successful applicants must be available to work the duration of the Camp, including staff training.
  3. The salary for working at our Summer Camp is dependent upon your age 
  4. The salary is subject to all normal UK taxes - e.g. PAYE and National Insurance Contributions)

Employment Dates

Staff Training: Thursday June 27 - Saturday June 29

Week 1: Monday July 1 - Friday July 5

Week 2: Monday July 8 - Friday July 12

Week 3: Monday July 15 - Friday July 19

Week 4: Monday July 22 - Friday July 26

Week 5: Monday July 29 - Friday August 2

Week 6: Monday August 5 - Friday August 9

Week 7: Monday August 12 - Friday August 16

Applying

Follow this link: https://www.campindy.co.uk/work-for-us/ or email Jen McGuire jen@internationalsummercampuk.com for more information.

About Camp Indy

At Camp Indy, campers get the opportunity to create a personalised summer programme to suit their interests. Our elective activities include sports, creative superstar, action & adventure, dance, art, performing arts and football.

We focus on developing children and building essential life-skills, all whilst having fun and creating friendships. Campers will leave Camp Indy more independant and confident, better communicators and with valuable leadership skills.

40

Make a difference. Get Involved

search opportunities
  • 90 John Street, Glasgow G1 1JH
  • Email
  • +44 (0) 141 567 5000