Skip to content Scroll to the top of the page
Four students holding glasses of bubbly and smiling at the camera

STAR Awards

Celebrating the achievements of all of our clubs and societies.

What's it all about?

The annual Student Achievement and Recognition (STAR) Awards is one of the biggest and most important events in our calendar.

The STAR Awards exist to recognise and thank all our student volunteers for their incredible work over the year, within the Union, University and in our community.

This year's STAR Awards took place on Wednesday 24th May in The Venue!

Shortlist and Winners

Congratulations to all our nominees and winners!

Sports Exec member of the year

Winner: Kirsten McBride


  • Kirsten McBride
  • Molly McHugh
  • Scott Reeves

Sports Club Captain of the Year

Winner: Nathan Gilmour


  • Liam Downing
  • Nathan Gilmour

  • Katie Hodgson

  • Freya Riddell

  • Cat Tierney

Rep of the Year

Winner: Alex McDougall-Page


  • Molly Biggar

  • Alex McDougall-Page

  • Muhammad Qaedi Bin Nasir

Activist of the Year

Winner: Ashanti Magoma


  • Ashanti Magoma

  • Karen McKeown

  • Emma Reavey

Campaign of the Year

Winner: Trans & Non-Binary Swim Campaign


  • 16 Days of Action/Activism – WILN+ Network

  • Divest Strathclyde & Climate Assembly campaign – Strath Climate Emergency Action Group

  • Islam & islamophobia awareness work – SUMSA

  • Trans & Non-Binary Swim campaign – LGBT+ soc, LGBT+ Rep

Community Project of the Year

Winner: #NominateHER - WILN+


  • #NominateHER – WILN+ Network

  • A Night at the Musicals, Musical Theatre

  • Bookmas – Book Club

  • Glasgow Students’ Nightline

  • Hear to Listen

Community Volunteer of the Year

Winner: Emma Reavey


  • Monaal Harekrishna Ashiyani

  • Jamie Campbell

  • Jo Fitzpatrick

  • Shania Maritz

  • Emma Reavey

Best New Society

Winner: Travel Society


  • K-Pop Society

  • Travel Society

  • Ukrainian Support Society

Society Volunteer of the Year

Winner: Adam Jacobs


  • Ermando Canga

  • Adam Jacobs

  • Maisie Keogh

  • Yvonne Lay

  • Seri Mohd Noh

  • Chinweuju Nzewi

Society of the Year

Winner: Mary's Meals


  • Fusion Radio

  • Language Café

  • Mary’s Meals

  • Strathclyde Musical Theatre Society

  • Strath Speakers


  • WILN+

Gold Society of the Year

Winner: Language Cafe


  • Book Club

  • Language Café

  • Mary’s Meals

  • Neurodiverse Students’ Association

  • Pole Fitness

  • Strath Speakers


Widening Access Society of the Year

Winner: Care Experienced & Estranged Students Society


  • Care Experienced & Estranged Students Society

  • Neurodiverse Students’ Association

Astrid Yeates Charity Project/Fundraiser of the Year

Winner: SUMSA Charity Week


  • Homeless Project – Strathclyde Warriors Cheerleading

  • Mary’s Meals

  • Movember Fight Night – Strathclyde Judo & Muay Thai

  • SUMSA Charity Week

Event of the Year

Winner: Cheerleading Annual Showcase - Strathclyde Warriors


  • Arab Culture Day – Arab Society

  • Cheerleading Annual Showcase – Strathclyde Warriors

  • COP26 Legacy Event – Strathclyde Doctoral School

  • Open Mic – English Society

  • Holi Celebrations - Strathclyde Indian Students' Association

Volunteer of the Year

Winner: Jo Fitzpatrick


  • Jamie Campbell

  • Jo Fitzpatrick

  • Adam Jacobs

  • Shania Maritz

  • Emma Reavey

Enhancing Engagement Competition

Greatest Member Increase

Winner: Engineers with Beers

Best Collaboration

Winner: Gatsby Night - Cocktail & Mocktail Society and Poker Society

Greatest Impact

Winner: Strath Speakers

Highly commended: Language Café

Explore this area

Accessibility Tools