Skip to content
Scroll to the top of the page

News Article

2022 Election Results

Find out all the results from the Elections results night!

electionsnewsRepresentationStrath ElectionsStudentsvoice

And just like that one of the biggest events in the Union’s calendar is over for another year. The results are in following a jam-packed Spring Elections season! You’ll have to keep reading to find out who won...

Pictured: Some of the 88 candidates that ran for 24 roles in the 2022 Student Elections

This year’s results night was the first held in The Terrace in #51Richmond. To kick off the event Manish Joshi, Strath Union CEO, welcomed attendees. Then Manish chatted with outgoing Student President, Benn Rapson. Afterwards it was onto the results. Manish had the job of announcing the winners to the in-person audience as well as those watching on Instagram.

With 3253 voters casting 18,875 votes representing 14.6% of the Strathclyde student population, it was the highest turnout since the 2020 Student Election.

Executive Officers 2022/23

Vice President Community - Jiani Chen

Vice President Education - Arran Lamont

Vice President Inclusion - Yu-Chu (Kathy) Doong

Vice President Sport - Ronan Welch

Vice President Welfare - Lewis McDermott

President - Adam Morrow

Pictured: 5 of the 6 new Student Exec for 2022/23 (L-R: Arran Lamont, Lewis McDermott, Adam Morrow, Ronan Welch and Yu-Chu (Kathy) Doong, not pictured Jiani Chen)

Non-Executive Officers 2022/23

Part Time Students' Rep - Grace Alom

BAME Rep - Musa Ibrahim Bello

Democracy Convenor - Kyle McGettigan

Interfaith Rep - Diksha Shandilya

International Students' Rep - Swati Choudhary

LGBT+ Rep - Maia Peat

Mature Students' Rep - Vivek Malik

Women's Rep.- Eva Curran

Faculty Rep Business Undergraduate - Muhammad Qaedi Bin Nasir

Faculty Rep Business Postgraduate Research - Nada Ghesh

Faculty Rep Engineering Undergraduate - Alistair Cooper

Faculty Rep Engineering Postgraduate Research - Ziqing Yin

Faculty Rep HaSS Undergraduate - Molly Biggar

Faculty Rep HaSS Postgraduate Research - Rebekah Chatellier

Faculty Rep HaSS Postgraduate Taught – Shafa Ayaz

Faculty Rep Science Undergraduate - Muntaha Naseer

Faculty Rep Science Postgraduate Research - Mohammed Abdurrauf M Gusbi

Faculty Rep Science Postgraduate Taught – Stutee Karulkar

Watch our Elections results night Instagram Live here. Massive congratulations to all the winners, and a huge well done to all the candidates who took part and ran some amazing campaigns!

You can find the Results presentation and a full voter breakdown for all the positions on the Elections results page. Make sure to follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram to meet your new Exec before they start in their new roles.


Accessibility Tools